Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, drawn from academia, business and broader related sectors will determine the winners of the Pharma Industry Awards UK

We understand the importance of a fair and objective judging process. That's why we assemble a prestigious panel of industry leaders, renowned for their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm, and expertise in the pharma industry.

Our selection process is meticulous. Judges are bound by strict confidentiality agreements and declare any potential conflicts of interest. Entries with conflicts are reassigned, ensuring complete impartiality.

A comprehensive judging process has been developed to decide the winners of the Pharma Industry Awards UK.

This unwavering commitment to integrity is the foundation of our awards programme. Become a part of recognising industry excellence. If you're interested in joining the judging panel, email your details to judges@businessriver.com .

2024 Judging Panel

Hisham Al-Obaidi

Lecturer in Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical, University of Reading

Hisham is a lecturer in Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Reading, UK. He holds a PhD in Pharmaceutics and Materials Science from University College London. VIEW MORE

Laszlo Fabian

Lecturer, University of East Anglia

Laszlo's research focuses on the design and selection of solid forms for pharmaceuticals, combining experimental characterisation and data mining/machine learning. His teaching mainly covers areas of Pharmaceutics. VIEW MORE

Radi Haloub

Associate Professor, University College London (UCL)

Radi is an Associate Professor and leading Biotech and Pharmaceutical Management programme. He is a consultant in drug manufacturing and management, and has been involved in the industry since 2000, launching different products and services in different markets and leading innovative change VIEW MORE

Marie Jones

Associate Professor, University of Birmingham

Marie currently is Associate Professor in Pharmaceutics and Nanotherapeutics at the University of Birmingham (UK). Her research focused on the development and assessment of organic nanomaterials for drug delivery. VIEW MORE

Nick Kaye

Chair, National Pharmacy Assocation

Nick Kaye is a community pharmacist and NPA Chair. He is a shareholder in Hendra’s Pharmacy in Penryn and an NPA media spokesperson. He was elected to the NPA Board in 2014. VIEW MORE

Dan Kirby

Senior Lecturer, Head of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Aston Pharmacy School, Aston University

Dr Dan Kirby is a Senior Lecturer and Head of Pharmaceutical Sciences within Aston Pharmacy School, with a research focus on the development of person-centred dosage form design to improve clinical efficacy, acceptability and compliance, especially in children and older people. VIEW MORE

Purbasa Patnaik

Associate Director, Exelixis

Purbasa leads drug product development and manufacturing for biologics at her current role at Exelixis. Her experience includes working for companies like NGM Bio, Harpoon Therapeutics (Merck), Catalent, Bayer and Eli Lilly. VIEW MORE

Thomas Tobin

Sales Director, Micro-Bio Ireland Ltd

Tom Tobin, an experienced company director at Micro-Bio, possesses a strong educational background in business administration along with an extensive knowledge in the chemical manufacturing sector. VIEW MORE